Our Leadership Team

Here you can find out a bit more about our Leadership Team and the experience they bring to the Housing Ombudsman Service.

The Housing Ombudsman – Denise Fowler

Denise has a long-standing involvement in the fields of housing, administrative justice and public policy. Before taking up her role as the Housing Ombudsman in March 2015, she was a Senior Government Lawyer, leading legal teams in  the Department for Communities and Local Government, the Department for Work and Pensions and the Department of Health. Working closely with Ministers and policy officials, she led many key law reform programmes, particularly in relation to housing and planning. She also led a number of change programmes including the transformation of DWP Commercial Legal Services.

Before joining the Civil Service, Denise worked in the voluntary sector, in local government and in private practice. She was a housing adviser, a housing lawyer, a partner in a legal aid practice and has also previously been the Principal Investigator and a member of the Senior Management Team of the Housing Ombudsman Service.

Since her appointment she has led transformational change at the Housing Ombudsman Service, introducing her new vision Housing Matters: Fairness Matters and ensuring that an already very positive service has become even better, significantly increasing the volume of complaints handled and customer satisfaction ratings. She and her team continue to work with the sector to use the lessons learned from complaints to improve landlord and resident relations and drive service improvement. 

Director of Finance and Corporate Performance – Andrea Keenoy

Andrea joined the Housing Ombudsman Service in September 2015.

She is a qualified Chartered Accountant and has been working for the National Audit Office (NAO) for the last seventeen years, auditing a range of government departments and their arm’s-length bodies. During her time at the NAO, she was also part of the technical support team, leading on a range of interventions aimed at improving governance, and was seconded to the House of Commons Scrutiny Unit. 

Outside of work, Andrea is a Governor at a maintained primary school and Chair of its Finance and Resources Committee.

Director of Dispute Resolution - Emma Foxall

Director of Dispute Resolution - Joyce Adu